Google Analytics Admin tab

How to remove a web site from google analytics

Manage Google Analytics Properties

When you need to remove a view or a property or web site from your Google analytics account, follow these steps below:

Note: As Google constantly improves analytics there are minor changes to where they put certain buttons, including the Move to Trash button

To remove a property from your account:

  1. Log into your Google Analytics account
  2. Once logged in, find the property that you want to delete
    • Google Analytics Property
  3. Select Property Settings under the middle Property column
    • Google Analytics property settings
  4. You will receive a prompt to move property to trash can, select Delete property button
    • Google Analytics move to trash prompt

The property is moved to trash. Important: Your property, and all the reporting views in the property, will be permanently deleted 35 days after being moved to the Trash Can. Once deleted, the property is gone, and we are not be able to retrieve any historical data or reinstate your reports.

If the account is tied to an AdSense account, you will see a warning message as above.

To Remove a view but not the Property:

  1. Log into your Google Analytics account
  2. Once logged in, find the property that you want to delete
    • Google Analytics Property
  3. Then select the ADMIN tab along the top of the page
    • Google Analytics Admin tab
  4. Once in the Admin area, go to the right of the screen under the View column and select View Settings
    • Google Analytics View Settings
  5. Once in the View settings, go to the right-hand side of the page and you’ll see Copy view and Move to trash can buttons, select Move to trash can
    • Google Analytics move to trash
  6. You will be prompted to confirm moving to trash
    • Google Analytics trash confirm
  7. When you go back to your main menu, you’ll see that the property has no views, which you can create a view or delete the property
    • Google Analytics no views

 

To read more about the Trash Can, read Google’s post on Trash CanImportant: Your property, and all the reporting views in the property, will be permanently deleted 35 days after being moved to the Trash Can. Once deleted, the property is gone, and we are not be able to retrieve any historical data or reinstate your reports.

Please feel free to share or comment if you found this helpful 🙂

Posted in Browser, How-to, Technology Blog, Tutorials and tagged .

Patrick O'Keeffe

Patrick is the founder and chief blogger of Victoria Web Solutions. Passionate about technology, design and customer satisfaction. Read more about Patrick on his Team page.

See all of Patrick's posts

Find Patrick on Google + | Facebook | Twitter | LinkedIn

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.