Transfer Google Places

I’ve read a few things about transferring Google accounts where people said that it cannot be done. Wrong. I recently had to transfer ownership of a Google place and this is how it’s done:

  1. Log in to your Google Places Account
  2. Go to the dashboard
  3. Select delete (under your business details)
  4. Select “Remove this listing from my Google Places account“. This removes the Places Page from your Gmail account. Don’t select “Remove this listing from Google Maps”.
  5. Your Places Page will still show up in search & will show “owner-verified” but that’s fine.
  6. Now create your business Places Page in your new Google Places account, identical to how it features already, ensuring you pick the existing business when Google provides a choice of similar businesses (don’t create a new one).
  7. Then verify with a PIN as normal and then it’s just a case of waiting.
  8. Your original Places Page will remain in search but you will notice your new Places Page as a duplicate (although it won’t feature as prominently). This is perfectly normal.
  9. After a couple of weeks the two Places Pages will merge and your listing be fully accessible through your new Google Account.

Cheers

Posted in Browser, How-to, Tutorials and tagged , .

Patrick O'Keeffe

Patrick is the founder and chief blogger of Victoria Web Solutions. Passionate about technology, design and customer satisfaction. Read more about Patrick on his Team page.

See all of Patrick's posts

Find Patrick on Google + | Facebook | Twitter | LinkedIn

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.